keeping a journal + some current obsessions

Apologies for not being about on the blog so much recently. As you may know I recently moved up to Kingston Upon Thames to begin studying for a degree in Photography. I’ve been here three weeks now and finally getting into the swing of things: work time vs playtime.

A few days ago I had a revolutionary idea that I felt inclined to write about on here. I was speaking to a friend who jokingly asked me to read out a sentence from my journal. I used to keep journals all the time as a child but I gave up with it by the time I reached 15, however when I was travelling I kept a journal again and really enjoyed its cathartic abilities so I have carried on writing in it since I returned home. After being asked to read a sentence I hesitantly picked up the journal and flicked through, and through, and through to only find comments of sadness, loneliness and negativity. All of which made me even sadder to remember and to read back on. I thought to my self, wait that’s not why I decided to keep a journal, I decided to keep a journal to record the happiest most precious and inspiring moments of my day but instead all I have done is written down the shit ones.

Interestingly this change coincided with the completion of one journal and the start of a new book if you will. It sort of symbolises the changes I am making within my self to be positive the self, about the moment and live in the now.

I don’t write in my journal everyday, there is not always something to talk about everyday. Time is also a great factor since starting uni I have home work again, I have to go food shopping and we have chores to make sure our flat does not fall into squalor. When I do write in my journal I make it count, I write down a note about something I learnt that day and I always write an empowering and positive message to begin my day with.

drink more water today. you are strong do not get drawn in, negativity is not worth your mental energy.

I cannot convey how useful it is keeping a journal, and a journal can take many forms such as a scrap book, and online diary / blog, a book illustrating your day (i may try this for a week that could be great fun). Journal’s help me remember things, they help me revisit memories of time’s I miss and they help me look forward to the new memories and experiences that will fill their pages.

I hope this post inspires some of you to start a journal or similar, it is challenging at first to remember that I am now keeping a journal but go for it, it may just be your cup of tea.

As I haven’t been on here for so long, I wanted to share a few of my current FAVS.

The best Youtube account I have recently subscribed to, this channel has opened my mind to exploring consciousness and realities even further. There are so many resources on here if you are interested in learning about consciousness and philosophy.

https://www.youtube.com/user/TheSpiritScience

 

 

4406202400_1_1_1
This incredible WOWEEEE coat from Zara.

6720629-4
 Beautiful floral patterned satin dress from ASOS

Screen Shot 2016-10-10 at 08.41.30.png
My new favourite IG user @myfridayfilms

http://www.wildthing.com/
Check out this clothing shop for thrifty prices and beautiful glittery garms!

Screen Shot 2016-10-10 at 09.00.15.png

If you go to one exhibition this year pleaseeee let it be this one. It is the best exhibition I have ever visited, the wealth of artefacts and information is mind blowing. If you have a student card it is only £12 – this one is worth the pennies.

ANNIE x

Leave a Reply

