SUMMER project

I purchased ‘Journey to the Centre of the Earth’ whilst in Thailand. I was going to get a Thai massage but completely freaked out about having my body clicked and spent the money on a book. Being only 150 pages in length the book was in no way daunting. The book is set in the 19th C and follows an eccentric scientist and his nephew to the crater of a volcano in Iceland to discover whether there really is a world in the centre of the Earth.

I decided that I  would spend my time producing illustrations, photographs and prints that relate to the book and have been inspired by the book. I have been using a wide range of techniques and styles within this work – the variation makes it way more fun for me.

Journey to the Centre of the Earth by Jules Verne

I began writing this post weeks ago, but now this project has had to take a back seat as I have been given a new task by my University and am already running out of time in which to get it all finished! Hopefully I will be able to carry on with this project at some point although I managed to produce a number of artworks. Through this project I also have made my 1st sale, absolutely over the moon about this, it’s inspired me so much to carry on doing what I love yaaay 🙂 🙂

All of these illustrations bar the 1st will be available to purchase from my DEPOP account – click the “SHOP MY ARTWORK” link in the nav bar above ^^^^^ or search @_annieking

Processed with VSCO with b1 preset
Welcome to the Centre of the Earth – Fine Liner and Pencil Sketch
IMG_20160820_123230
The secret message from Arne Saknussemm
IMG_20160820_123238
Volcanic Crater – Water Colour
IMG_20160820_123302
The Midnight Sun from the Summit of Snaefell – Fine Liner 
IMG_20160820_123424
Leaves – Water Colour and Fine Liner

IMG_20160820_123434

IMG_20160820_123522
The Lidenbrock House – Fine Liner

IMG_20160820_123530

2 thoughts on “SUMMER project

Leave a Reply

